#TBT – The Panda… Never say no

So It’s Thursday and I figured we should do a little throwback, or #TBT as the kids are liking to call it now a days. Here’s a great set of international commercials from a company that is all about Cheese, on the surface. They’re so much more than that though. They are amazing. The brand strikes fear and joy at the same time. I love it and I hope you do too. Check it out after the jump.

Panda Cheese put out these amazing ads in 2010 and they all feature someone offering cheese. The recipient doesn’t want it or isn’t in the mood, and then… well just watch –

What did I tell you? Amazing right? You’re thinking to yourself, how do I get some of this cheese stateside so that this panda doesn’t cut my brake lines or spit in my cereal or something like that?

They’re just amazing on so many levels. Lots of upvotes for Advance Marketing and Elephant Cairo for putting these together.

First, we have the product. I’m sure it’s a good product. I’m sure it’s great on crackers, sandwiches, mixed in to some queso dip, but it’s just so much more. This panda is terrorizing and cuddly all at the same time. I wish we still could put out ads like this stateside, but for some reason we don’t have the subtle humor and surprising outcomes that these do, or that I’ve seen in a while.

The way it’s unsuspecting in the first one and then going on you continue to see what the panda is going to do, is just story telling genius. I want the panda to win every time and I never want to say no to him. At the same time I want to say no to him everytime, just to see what he’ll do. It’s like if sour patch kits were animals.

Nowadays if this ad came out there’s so much you can do with it regarding social media. We can take a page from top brands now who are interacting with eachother, like Oreo and Charmin, and add some of the pandas attitude.

One fun campaign could be that brands, celebs, agencies or any public figure could say “no” to the panda and then he could conveniently ‘hack’ their pages. This would lead to fun interactions between brands and the panda.

We could also put out fun news stories or ‘damage reports’ for the pandas total damage costs. It could turn in to a fun meme.

“Today in this random city I’m in, the Panda’s damage has caused $22.00 dollars in damages when an said no and the Panda made a long distance call from their phone. This has to stop.”

I would love to see a big list of all the rebuttals the panda could think of if someone said no, like how telemarketers try and keep you saying yes.

There’s just so much fun stuff they could do, but for what they did, I applaud you.. Now my crackers need some cheese..

Panda Cheese Gif-new

 

What do you think of these ads? Do you have one I haven’t seen that’s just as good? Are there any good Social Media integrations that Could be something like this? Let me know in the comments below and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

